Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) was established to advise HDHL on all scientifically and technologically relevant issues.

The Scientific Advisory Board consists of 15 top researchers in the field of Nutrition and Health, and is chaired by John Mathers. Members are elected based on their individual research experience, not as representatives of their organizations. The expertise of the SAB is equally divided between the following three areas of the Strategic Research Agenda (SRA) – five scientists for each research area:

  1. Citizens, Diet, and Behavior
  2. Food for Health
  3. Diet, Health, and Disease

The Management Board (MB) requests advice from its advisory boards on their strategic and implementation plans, as well as on communication and dissemination of its results.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

Research Area 1
1 / 3

Research Area 1

Janas HarringtonSchool of Public Health, University College Cork
Katarina BälterMälardalen University
Wendy Van LippeveldeGhent University, Faculty of Economics and Business Administration, Department of Marking, Innovation and Organisation, Research Unit Consumer behaviour
Paula Varela Tomasco
  • Nofima
  • Norwegian University of Life Sciences


Research Area 2
2 / 3

Research Area 2

Catherine StantonTeagasc and APC Microbiome Ireland, University College Cork
Peter WildeQuadram Institute Bioscience
Martinus (Tiny) van BoekelWageningen University & Research
Mark BückingFraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology IME


Research Area 3
3 / 3

Research Area 3

Dirk HallerTechnical University of Munich
Christophe Matthys
  • Nutrition & Obesity Unit, Clinical and Experimental Endocrinology, Department of Chronic diseases, Metabolism and Ageing, KU Leuven (University of Leuven)
  • Clinical Nutrition, Department of Endocrinology, UZ Leuven (University Hospitals Leuven)
Ellen BlaakMaastricht University Medical Centre+, The Netherlands
John MathersNewcastle University, Human Nutrition Research Centre
Karsten KöhlerTechnical University of Munich



Kristina Foterek

Kristina.Foterek [at]


Ann Siehoff

nutrition-hdhl [at]